The Stonewall Caucus of the Democratic Party of Hawai‘i was established in 2001 and is organized to advocate for Hawai‘is lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgendered, queer/questioning, intersex, and asexual communities (LGBTQIA+) through the Democratic Party of Hawai‘i, elected and appointed Democrat officials and the general community.

Democrats have led and continue to lead the fight to ensure that no individual suffers discrimination or deprived their rights based on race, religion, ethnicity, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, gender expression, handicapped status or disability, national origin, socio-economic and any other status.

Mission Statement:

The Stonewall Caucus is dedicated to representing Hawai‘i’s LGBTQIA+ community by supporting and promoting the values and positions of the Democratic Party of Hawai‘i in promoting justice and equality regardless of gender, sexual orientation, gender identity, and gender expression for such issues and concerns as: Government Operations, Government Rule-Making and Practices, Government Funding and Appropriations, and Welfare and Social Service Benefits; Hate Crimes; Relationship Rights and Responsibilities; Parenting, Adoption and Definitions of Family; Employment; Housing; Public Accommodations; Health; Education; Environment; Sustainable Development; Food Insecurity; Tourism; Economic Development; Economic Inequality; Ending Racism within the LGBTQIA+ Community; and Serving our Country in Military Service. The Caucus will also protect the advancements that we all have made as a community for our community.

Membership - Everyone that supports our mission is welcome to join the Stonewall Caucus and are invited to attend our regular meetings on the 3rd Saturday of the month at 10:00 AM HST at DPH Headquarters and via Zoom. Note: That only enrolled members of the Stonewall Caucus and the Democratic Party of Hawai‘i will be eligible to vote for caucus elections.

Stonewall is in reference to the 1969 Stonewall Riots that took place in New York City outside of the Stonewall Inn. These riots began the modern fight for justice and equality for the LGBTQIA+ community across the United States and around the world. For more information about the Stonewall Riots click here.

LGBTQIA+ = L - Lesbian, G - Gay, B – Bisexual/Bi-gender, T - Transgender, Q - Queer/Questioning, I - Intersex, A - Asexual/Agender, and “+” – It is the catch all for the other ways one refers to their gender, sexual orientation, gender identity, and/or gender expression that was not listed previously including but not limited to māhū, aikāne, pansexual, two spirit, etc.

Gender – It is a social and cultural construct. It’s how a person’s identity relates to society’s idea of what it means to be a woman, man, neither, or a mix of many genders.

Sexual Orientation - Refers to an enduring pattern of emotional, romantic and/or sexual attractions with respect to gender(s).

Gender Identity – A person’s deeply-held inner feelings of whether they are female, male, both, or neither. Their gender identity isn’t seen by others.

Gender Expression - How one chooses to express their gender identity through their name, pronouns, clothing, hair style, behavior, voice, and/or body features.

For more information on the Stonewall Caucus, please visit our website
To join the Stonewall Caucus click here.
Follow us on:
Twitter @StonewallDPH
Instagram @stonewallcaucusdph
Steering Committee - 2020 - 2022 
First Vice Chair: VACANT
Treasurer: James Mateo
Secretary: Lynn Robinson-Onderko
Vice-Chair for Membership: VACANT
Vice-Chair for Communications: VACANT
Vice-Chair for Fundraising: VACANT
Kauaʻi Rep: Paul Spear
Oʻahu Rep: VACANT
Maui Rep: Deb Cohen
West Hawaiʻi County Rep: Zahava Zaidoff (known as “Z”)
East Hawaiʻi County Rep: VACANT
At-Large Representative: Adrian Tam
At-Large Representative: Darrah Kauhane
SCC Representative: Michael Golojuch, Jr.

* * * * *


NOTICE: This solicitation is made on behalf of the Democratic Party of Hawai‘i (DPH) for its federal fund. Federal law requires us to use our best efforts to obtain and report the name, mailing address, occupation and employer of individuals whose contributions aggregate in excess of $200 for the year. Contributions are not tax deductible. Contributions from individuals are limited to $10,000 per year combined to state, district and local Party committees. Contributions from qualified Federal PACs are limited to $5,000 per year combined to state, district, and local party committees Contributions from corporations, labor organizations, federal government contractors, foreign nationals, or contributions made in the name of another are prohibited.